Jump to Navigation
Phone: 410-377-2966  

Shopping cart

For the most up-to-date stock information, please email us at info@theivybookshop.com

Jezebel: A Novel (Paperback)

Jezebel: A Novel By Megan Barnard Cover Image
$17.00
On Our Shelves Now
On hand as of Jun 14 5:46pm
(FICTION)

Description


Jezebel. You’ve heard the name. But you’ve never heard her story.

"Historical fiction at its finest," (Louisa Morgan) this propulsive novel is a stunning reimagining of the story of a fierce princess from Tyre and her infamous legacy


Jezebel was born into the world howling. She intends to leave it the same way.

When Jezebel learns she can't be a king like her father simply because she’s a girl, she vows never to become someone’s decorative wife, nameless and lost to history. At fifteen she’s married off, despite her protests, to Prince Ahab of Israel. There, she does what she must to gain power and remake the dry and distant kingdom in the image of her beloved, prosperous seaside homeland of Tyre, beginning by building temples to the gods she grew up worshipping. As her initiatives usher in an era of prosperity for Israel, her new subjects love her, and her name rings through the land.

Then Elijah, the prophet of Yahweh and her former lover, begins to speak out against her. Bitter at having been abandoned by Jezebel, he lashes out, calling her a slut. Harlot. Witch. And the people, revering their prophet’s message, turn on her.

As ancient powers and faiths are pitted against each other, bloodshed descends on Israel and Jezebel faces the fall of her legacy. Determined despite the odds to make Israel a great nation, she must decide how far she's willing to go to protect her family, her throne—her name. A stunning revision of a notorious queen’s story, Jezebel is a thrilling lyrical debut about a fierce woman who refuses to be forgotten.

About the Author


Megan Barnard is a former literary agent and editor turned full-time writer. When she’s not writing, she drinks coffee, travels widely, and shuffles towering stacks of books around, so they don't kill her or her husband. She lives in Maryland with her husband and her pup, Pippin.

Praise For…


“In Megan Barnard’s debut novel, “Jezebel,” the titular wicked queen of biblical lore gets a spirited makeover… Redeeming the novel from well-worn tropes of female disempowerment is Barnard’s subversive counternarrative… This audiobook is a homage to the innate right to be heard.”New York Times Book Review

"[A] stunning first novel...A riveting story reinforcing the notion that there are two sides to every story. Barnard’s eloquently written debut is perfect for fans of Madeline Miller’s Circe or The Song of Achilles." Library Journal, *starred review*

“Rich with historical detail and a fresh and convincing perspective…Like so many strong women, Jezebel is loved, feared, and hated, especially by the men she rules. Megan Barnard's Jezebel is also strong, determined, and resourceful…historical fiction at its finest." – Louisa Morgan, author of A Secret History of Witches


"Ambitious...a provocative concept." – Publisher's Weekly
Product Details
ISBN: 9780143137672
ISBN-10: 0143137670
Publisher: Penguin Books
Publication Date: July 25th, 2023
Pages: 304
Language: English

by Dr. Radut